London Korean Links

Covering things Korean in London and beyond since 2006

Novus String Quartet returns to the Wigmore

Wigmore Hall regulars the Novus String Quartet – Jaeyoung Kim (violin), Young-Uk Kim (violin), Kyuhyun Kim (viola) and Wonhae Lee (cello) – return to London for an hour-long coffee concert on Sunday morning, 14 April, and a full length concert on Monday evening, 15 April Sunday 14 April 2024, 11.30am WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART: String Quartet … [Read More]

Korean performers at the 2023 Edinburgh International Festival

Five performance programmes from Korea to celebrate 140 years of diplomatic relations with the UK: three of chamber and solo instrumental music, plus the KBS Symphony Orchestra and the National Changgeuk Company. 8 August: Novus String Quartet The Queen’s Hall, 11:00am Tickets from £13.50 | Buy tickets here Schubert String Quartet in C minor D703 ‘Quartettsatz’ … [Read More]

Novus String Quartet play Britten, Janáček and Shostakovich at the Wigmore Hall

Programme Benjamin Britten (1913-1976): 3 Divertimenti for string quartet Leoš Janáček (1854-1928): String Quartet No. 1 ‘Kreutzer Sonata’ INTERVAL Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975): String Quartet No. 9 in E flat Op. 117 Written in 1923, Janáček’s piece was inspired not only by Tolstoy’s novella but also the composer’s passionate love for the much younger (and married) … [Read More]

Novus String Quartet play the Wigmore

A nice way to spend the latter half of a Sunday morning: Novus String Quartet Sunday 20 February 2022 11:30am Wigmore Hall | 36 Wigmore Street | London W1U 2BP | Buy tickets Programme Bedřich Smetana (1824-1884): String Quartet No. 1 in E minor ‘From my life’ Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): String Quartet in C minor … [Read More]

Novus String Quartet lunchtime concert at the Wigmore

Established in Korea in 2007, the Novus String Quartet has gone on to achieve widespread success, notably with first prize at the International Mozart Competition in Salzburg in 2014. Its programme comprises masterpieces by Respighi and Berg composed during the years 1924–6. Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936): Quartetto dorico Alban Berg (1885-1935): Lyric Suite Monday 25 March 2019 1:00PM Wigmore Hall … [Read More]

Novus String Quartet coffee concert at the Wigmore

Novus String Quartet play Mendelssohn and Tchaikovsky Sunday 16 December 2018 11:30AM Wigmore Hall £16 (Concs £14) includes programme and coffee/sherry/juice | Book tickets This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval Mendelssohn’s A minor quartet is an early work, written in 1827 when he was 18 and shows the impact … [Read More]