Sarah Chang plays Shostakovich at the Barbican

What a shame. Whenever Sarah Chang comes to London she seems to play Bruch. But this month, she’s playing Shostakovich 1 with Valery Gergiev and the LSO. Great programme. But it clashes with the E J-yong Q&A at the Apollo Piccadilly. Gergiev’s Pathétique, and the prospect of how he might approach the Sea Interludes, almost tip it in favour of the concert, but not quite.

Oh well…

Sarah Chang & London Symphony Orchestra / Valery Gergiev

Sarah Chang23 February 2012 / 19:30
Barbican Hall

Tickets: £10 / 15 / 19.50 / 27 / 35


Britten Four Sea Interludes from ‘Peter Grimes’
Shostakovich Violin Concerto No 1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 6 (‘Pathétique’)

Taken from his opera Peter Grimes, Britten’s Four Sea Interludes paint a portrait of the sea from the eerie calm of dawn to the overwhelming turbulence of the final storm. Shostakovich famously encoded his name into the Scherzo of his Violin Concerto No 1 using his DSCH motif (Dimitri SCHostakovich) as an act of defiance against a repressive State. The ‘Pathétique’ of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No 6 does not in fact mean ‘arousing pity’, but should be understood from its Russian meaning as simply ‘passionate’.

Further details on the Barbican website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.