London Korean Links

Covering things Korean in London and beyond since 2006

Yeol Eum Son plays Mozart at King’s Place + pre-concert talk

Coming up this Friday:

Aurora Orchestra with Yeol Eum Son: Dark with Excessive Bright

Date & time: Fri 5 Apr – 7pm
Hall One | Kings Place | 90 York Way | London N1 9AGe
Tickets £49.50-£29.50 + £3 booking fee | Book tickets

Yeol Eum Son

Edward Elgar: Serenade for Strings in E minor, Op. 20
WA Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 21 in C, K467
Missy Mazzoli: Dark with Excessive Bright (UK premiere)
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 8 in F, Op. 93

Yeol Eum Son piano
Ben Griffiths double bass
Nicholas Collon conductor

Spinning past and present into a vibrant collision of styles and forms, this programme pairs one of the most distinctive voices of contemporary American music with cherished works by Mozart, Beethoven and Elgar.

New York-based composer Missy Mazzoli writes adventurous music with nods to classical, indie rock and pop. Co-commissioned by Aurora and the Australian Chamber Orchestra, her new work Dark with Excessive Bright is a soaring double bass concerto rooted in Baroque idioms that swirls with brooding intensity and relentless momentum. While Mazzoli’s music is very much the sound of the moment, it also harks back to the classical greats; she cites Beethoven as her ultimate musical love, and has been referred to as ‘Brooklyn’s post-millennial Mozart’ (Time Out).

Referencing these inspirations, we place Mazzoli’s music in dialogue with Beethoven’s daring and compact Eighth Symphony, continuing our journey through the composer’s symphonic works at Kings Place. Also included in the programme is Elgar’s Serenade for Strings and Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21 (‘Elvira Madigan’) performed by Yeol Eum Son, whose thrilling performance of this concerto at the Tchaikovsky Competition in 2011 catapulted her to global stardom.

Pre-concert talk: Yeol Eum Son and Ben Griffiths
St Pancras Room, 6pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.