London Korean Links

Covering things Korean in London and beyond since 2006

World Premiere: Yunho Jeong’s Concerto for clarinet & orchestra

A new work by young composer Yunho Jeong gets its premiere this week at the South Bank. According to The Arts Desk,

Yunho Jeong’s Clarinet Concerto explores aspects of psychological tension, noting that “the concerto allows for diverse metaphors to be applied in the relationship between solo and orchestra. I got an idea from a sort of psychological concept when I wrote the Clarinet Concerto – the solo clarinet presents the ego and the orchestra describes another unconscious world.”

The concerto will be performed alongside four other new works. According to the London Philharmonic, each composer was given a brief for “a new work of up to eight minutes, for a chamber orchestra of c. 30 musicians.”

World Premiere: Yunho Jeong’s Concerto for clarinet & orchestra

Date: Thursday 14 July 2022, 7:30pm
Queen Elizabeth Hall | Southbank Centre | Belvedere Road | London, SE1 8XX |

Tickets: £5 | Buy tickets here
Yunho Jeong
Yunho Jeong

Brett Dean conducts five inspiring new concertos by LPO Young Composers, performed by soloists from the London Philharmonic Orchestra. Those five concertos are preceded by a performance of Stravinsky’s Suite No. 2 for Small Orchestra.

Debut Sounds is an annual platform which showcases new works by the LPO Young Composers. This year, the composers have created five inspiring new concertos for soloists from the London Philharmonic Orchestra: violin, viola, double bass, piccolo and clarinet.

Guided and conducted by LPO Composer in Residence Brett Dean, and continuing to celebrate emerging talent, the new works are performed by an ensemble of musicians from the LPO Foyle Future Firsts Development Programme, alongside LPO players.


Members of the London Philharmonic Orchestra
LPO Foyle Future Firsts
Brett Dean conductor
Sebastian Pennar double bass | Stewart McIlwham piccolo | Richard Waters viola | Benjamin Mellefont clarinet | Kate Oswin violin


Stravinsky: Suite No.2
Alex Ho: Splinter for double bass & orchestra (World premiere)
Conrad Asman: Concerto for piccolo & orchestra (World premiere)
Angela Elizabeth Slater: Through the fading hour for viola & orchestra (World premiere)
Yunho Jeong: Concerto for clarinet & orchestra (Der vogel kämpft sich aus dem ei …) (World premiere)
Rafael Marino Arcaro: Violin Concerto, Op.14 (World premiere)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.