London Korean Links

Covering things Korean in London and beyond since 2006

Joyce Yang UK debut piano recital in Cambridge

Joyce Yang is not a name I had come across before. But she won a silver medal at the Van Cliburn competetion, and she is appearing in a series of piano recitals in Cambridge – the Cambridge International Piano Series – which includes some seriously big names: Barry Douglas, Peter Donohoe and Martin Roscoe. The programme for her recital on 30 January looks exciting, with some virtuoso transcriptions by Earl Wild.


Wednesday, 30th January 2013 (7.30pm)
West Road Concert Hall, 11 West Road, Cambridge CB3 9DP

Joyce Yang
Joyce Yang (photo: Oh Seuk Hoon)

Described as ‘the most gifted young pianist of her generation’ with a ‘million-volt stage presence’ pianist Joyce Yang captivates audiences across the globe with her stunning virtuosity combined with heartfelt lyricism and interpretive sensitivity. At just 26, she has established herself as one of the leading artists of her generation through her innovative solo recitals and notable collaborations with the world’s top orchestras. In 2010 she received an Avery Fisher Career Grant – one of classical music’s most prestigious accolades.

Yang came to international attention in 2005 when she won the silver medal at the prestigious 12th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. The youngest contestant, she also took home two additional awards: the Steven De Groote Memorial Award for Best Performance of Chamber Music (with the Takàcs Quartet) and the Beverley Taylor Smith Award for Best Performance of a New Work.

Since her spectacular debut, Yang has blossomed into an ‘astonishing artist’ (Neue Zürcher Zeitung), and she continues to appear with orchestras around the world.

For her UK debut in Cambridge she will be playing some popular pieces and arrangements which will ensure an exciting evening for all. Do join us if you can!

BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata in E-flat Op.31, No.3 (‘The Hunt’)
CHOPIN: Nocturne No.4 in F Op.15 No.1, Nocturne No.15 in F minor Op.55, No.1
BARTOK: ‘Out of Doors’ Suite Sz.81
RACHMANINOV/WILD: Vocalise Op.34 No.14
RACHMANINOV: Sonata for Piano No.2 in B-flat minor Op.36 (rev.1931)

Tickets: £21, £19 (OAP), £15 (Restricted view), £12 (Child, Student, Registered disabled), £10 (Restricted view OAP, Child, Student, Registered disabled).
Groups: 20% off for groups of 10+
NB: A £1 booking fee will be added to all ticket prices.
Tickets available from: Cambridge Corn Exchange and City Centre Box Office, 2 Wheeler Street, Cambridge CB2 3QB
Box Office tel: 01223 357851
Box Office email: [email protected]
Book online:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.