London Korean Links

Covering things Korean in London and beyond since 2006

Event news: a networking piano recital – 9 October

A networking piano recital coming up in October, courtesy of the 유코잡스 Facebook group.

Piano recital: Yoon-Seok Shin and Sohyun Park

Date: Friday 9th October, 18:30–21:30
Venue: St John’s Church | Waterloo Road | London SE1 8TY
This is a Free Event but RSVP required by “join” on the Facebook Event Page.

recital poster


18:30~19:00 – Socialisation at the reception
19:00~21:00 – Piano Performance

1) Sohyun Park
– Faure: Ballade
– Prokofie:v Romeo and Juliet 10 pieces for piano op.75
1. Folk Dance
2. Scene
3. Minuet
4. The young Juliet
5. Masks
6. The Montagues and Capulets
7. Father Lorenzo
8. Mercutio
9. Lily Dance of the Maides
10. Romeo bids Juliet farewell.


2) Yoon-Seok Shin
(Theme 1 – From Classical to Romantic Period)
– Haydn, Joseph:
Piano Sonata No.60 in C major Hob.XVI/50
i) Allegro
ii) Adagio
iii) Allegro molto
– Chopin, Frederic:
Nocturne in B major Op.32 No.1
Nocturne in C sharp minor, Op.posth
– Czerny, Carl:
Fantaisie brillante on themes from the Mozart’s opera ‘The Marriage of Figaro’ Op.493
– Liszt, Franz:
Hungarian Rhapsody No.13 in A minor, S.244/13
(Theme 2 – The Art of Encore)
– Piece to be announced on the day!

21:00~21:30 – Socialisation at the reception
21:40~23:00 – Drink at the bar (The Wellington Hotel, 81-83 Waterloo Road, Waterloo, London SE1 8UD)

Yoon-Seok Shin

Yoonseok ShinBorn in South Korea in 1987, Yoon-Seok began the piano at the age of 6. In 1999 he came to live in the United Kingdom continuing his studies with Andrew Zolinsky at the Junior Royal College of Music, London until 2005. During this time, he was a regular member at the yearly music festival hosted by the Old Freemen’s Society where he was invited to perform on special occasions notably the 150th anniversary of Freemen’s Society at Guildhall in the presence of the Lord Mayor of London.

Yoon-Seok graduated from the Royal College of Music, London after completing the prestigious Artist Diploma in Performance and the Master of Music (MMus) in Advanced Performance under the tutelage of Andrew Ball. Also, he gained his Bachelor of Music, BMus (Hons) in Performance at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance (Trinity College of Music), London where he studied with Philip Fowke and was awarded 1st Class Honours. Yoon-Seok received the City Livery Club Prize in recognition of his outstanding performances and achievements.

Yoon-Seok first came to attention when he won many competitions and awards include 1st Prize in the Michael and Ernest Corby Transcription Competition 2007, 2nd Prize in the Il Circolo Competition 2008, 3rd Prize in the 2nd Manchester International Concerto Competition 2009 and the Runners-Up Prize in the Preliminary of the Jaques Samuel Intercollegiate Competition 2007. Since this led to his successful UK debut solo recital at St. John’s Smith Square, London as a part of Young Artists’ Series in 2008, Yoon-Seok has appeared at some of UK’s most prestigious venues and recently given toured concerts throughout in Europe and Asia. His notable recitals given at St. Lawrence Jewry, Charlton House, Regent Hall, Pizza Express Jazz Club, the Reform Club, the Yamaha Chappells Concert Hall, Louis Vuitton Maison, the Korean Embassy, the Korean Cultural Centre, Steinway Hall in London, The Portsmouth Music Club, the Bedford Recital Series, Korean Festival UK, Woolmarket Music Society in Essex, Konserthuset – The Nobel Prize Award Hall in Sweden, Seoul National University Hospital, Seoul Sejong Center Chamber Hall and Seoul Arts Center Concert Hall in South Korea. In addition, Yoon-Seok makes regular concerto appearances, recently performing with Seoul Amore Philharmonic Orchestra, the New London Orchestra, the Ashtead Park Sinfonia, the Manchester Camerata and the Thames Philharmonia under the conductors such as Hee Tae Seo, Paul Dodds, Stephen Threlfall, Byung-Yun Yu and Ronald Corp.

He has also participated at the major festivals and masterclasses with many acclaimed pianists and pedagogues including Leslie Howard, Michael Roll, Ronald Stevenson, Murray McLachlan, Melvyn Tan, Ingrid Fliter, Joseph Banowetz, Gordon Fergus-Thompson, Stephen Hough, Yonty Solomon and the fortepianist Steven Devine.

In great demand as a chamber musician and accompanist, Yoon-Seok has collaborated with many artists and is currently an official artist of T&B Entertainment Classic (South Korea) as well as the Performance Vice-President & Member in Korean Artists Association (UK).

Sohyun Park

Sohyun ParkSohyun Park was born in South Korea. Her family moved to the UK when she was 9 and started her music studies.

She auditioned successfully to enter Chetham’s school of Music when she was 13 and was taught piano by Jonathan Middleton.

For the last 6 years she has been studying at the Royal College of Music. For her Bachelor of Music (Honours) with scholarship, she has studied with Ruth Nye and Master of Music in Performance with Gordon Fergus-Thompson receiving a Distinction grade.

During these six years she has been involved in many activities within college such as duo, chamber music, accompanying, entering competitions, lunchtime concerts, many master classes and projects such as collaborating with violinist Jooyeon Sir in the Beethoven violin sonata concert series, performing for patients in the Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, Messiaen l’oiseaux exotique piano festival. Through these activities she became renowned, experienced and valued as a pianist.

She was successful in many competitions and music festivals, such as the Chappell Medal Competition 2013 (Piano prize), the Norfolk Young Musician of the Year 2011 (1st Prize), the Ryszard Bakst Chopin competition (Finalist), Norah Sande award, Bromsgrove Music festival, Norfolk Festival and Southport festival.

Being successful in competitions and festivals gave her more support, and this leads her to tour around UK and internationally giving concerts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.