London Korean Links

Covering things Korean in London and beyond since 2006

KCC May House Concert: Aeolian String Quartet

Note that May’s House Concert is the penultimate Tuesday of the month – a week earlier than usual.

Aeolian String Quartet

Tuesday 21 May 2019, 7pm @KCCUK
Admission free but Advanced Booking is required

Aeolian String Quartet

Mei Fujisato (Violin), Sherry Shen (Violin), HyunJin Soh (Viola), Ekaterina Solomennik (Cello)

Debussy String Quartet Op.10

I. Anime et tres decide
II. Assez vif et bien rythme
III. Andantino, doucement expressif
IV. Tres modere

Prokofiev String Quartet No.2 Op.92

I. Allegro sostenuto
II. Adagio
III. Allegro

The Aeolian String Quartet features an international line-up of postgraduate students from the Royal College of Music.

Mei Fujisato (Japan), first violin, studied in the USA before coming to London, and has performed at AlpenKammerMusik, Prague Summer Nights and the International Music Festival of the Adriatic. On the second violin, Sherry Shen (China) has performed with the Chinese Opera in Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong and Singapore. She also has four years’ experience with the Alexander Chamber Orchestra. Currently playing with the London City Philharmonic and the Brixton Chamber Orchestra. The violist is HyunJin Soh (Korea), a student of Kyung Wha Chung who has also participated in the Great Mountains Music Festival as a sponsored musician. Soh is also a member of the One Korea Youth Orchestra, conducted by Myung Whun Chung. The foursome is completed by cellist Ekaterina Solomennik (Russia), the winner of numerous international awards as a solo, ensemble, and orchestral performer. She made her concerto debut in 2007, since which time she has performed in numerous concert halls across Russia. Currently studying with Raphael Walfisch, Ekaterina has her Master of Music from the Nizhny Novgorod State Conservatory, and has performed at some of Russia’s leading music festivals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.