2021 University of Edinburgh Yun Posun Memorial Symposium

The 2021 University of Edinburgh Yun Posun Memorial Symposium takes the pandemic as its theme:

New Agenda for South Korea-UK Cooperation in the COVID19 Era

2 – 3 November 2021 Zoom and YouTube Online Symposium

Yun Posun QR codes

First day: 2nd November, 2021 (10:00 am-12:30pm GMT, 7:00pm-9:30pm KST)

Registration (9:30am-10:00am GMT, 6:30pm-7:00pm KST)

Opening Ceremony (10:00am-11:05am GMT, 7:00 pm-8:05 pm KST)

Yun Posun 2021 poster

  • National Anthem of UK / Korea
  • Welcome Remark: President. Yong-Ho KIM (Yun Posun Institute for Democracy)
  • Opening Remark: Principal and Vice-Chancellor. Peter MATHIESON (University of Edinburgh)
  • Congratulatory Remark 1: Ambassador. Simon SMITH (UK Ambassador to ROK)
  • Congratulatory Remark 2: Ambassador. Gunn KIM (Korean Ambassador to UK)
  • Keynote Speeches: Tae-sik LEE (Former Ambassador to UK and US)
  • Yun Posun Young Scholar Award

Short break (5mins)

1st Session: New Political Economy of the COVID-19 Era (11:10am-12:30pm GMT, 8:10pm-9:30pm KST)

  • Moderator and Discussant Dr. Youngmi KIM (University of Edinburgh)
  • COVIDI9 and Government Trust in South Korea: Prof. Young ho CHO (Sogang University)
  • New Political Economy of the COVID19 Era: Dr. Sarah LIU (University of Edinburgh)
  • Q&A

Second day: 3 November, 2021 (10:00am-1:00pm GMT, 7:00pm-10:00pm KST)

Registration (9:30am-10:00am GMT. 6:30pm-7:00pm KST)

2nd Session: International Development Cooperation (10:00am-11:20am GMT. 7:00 pm-8:20 pm KST)

  • Moderator and Discussant Prof. Chan Wook PARK (Seoul National University)
  • New Issues of International Development in the COVID19 era: Prof. Taekyoon KIM (Seoul National University)
  • ODA of UK/ Korea on COVID-19: Dr. Sojin LIM (University of Central Lancashire)
  • Q&A

Short break (10 mins)

3rd Session: US-China Relations in the COVID19 era (11:30am-12:50pm GMT 8:30 pm-9:50 pm KST)

  • Moderator and Discussant Prof. Ihn-hwi PARK (Ewha Womans University)
  • The UK perspectives on US-China relations: Dr. Oliver TURNER (University of Edinburgh)
  • The Korean perspective on US-China relations: Prof. Yin hay AI-IN (Korea University)
  • Q&A

Closing Remark (10mins)

Language: Korean and English (Simultaneous Interpretation)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.