LKL book database logo

The Prophet and Other Stories

Translated by:
Publisher: , 1999.
Link to online store

Yi Ch’ong-Jun was born in 1939 and graduated from the department of German language and literature at Seoul National University in 1966. He has long been recognized as one of Korea’s most prolific and demanding authors. Since his debut in 1965, he has enjoyed consistent critical and commercial success. His characters are ordinary people-writers, farmers, photographers and artisans-all struggling to survive in an increasingly materialistic and complicated society. They search for life’s significance in the whirlwind change of modern Korea only to discover that the answers to their questions run deep beneath the surface of reality. This collection provides a cross-section of Yi’s work, beginning with the haunting novella, The Falconer (1968) and ending with The Fire Worshipers, which won the National Literary Award from the Korean Culture and Arts Foundation in 1986.

Falconer (1968)
Footprints in the Snow (1977)
The Fire Worshipers (1985)
The Prophet (1977)
Time’s Gate (1982)

LKL says:

A collection that repays constant revisiting: a window into Korea's cultural past.

LKL rating: score-2score-2score-2score-2score-1

Entry on here.