London Korean Links

Covering things Korean in London and beyond since 2006

LKL book database logo

Tiger Swallowtail (K-Poet 20)

Translated by:
Publisher: , 2021
Original title: 호랑나비, 2021
Link to online store *

It is a collection of poems in the domain of Tiger Swallowtail by Hwang Gyu-gwan, the 20th collection of poems by K-Poet. In 1993, he began his work by winning the Jeon Tae-il Literature Award and published poetry books such as Cheolsan-dong Post Office, Water Goes its Way, defeat is My Power, Waiting for the Typhoon, noon Coming, and Let’s Just Spend This Car. The poet’s ability to create poetic resonations in places that are not out of the real world is also revealed in this collection of poems. In particular, this collection of poems, Tiger Swallowtail, contains the voice of a poet who contemplates how to cultivate and preserve our souls living in a broken world. You can also see a poet’s essay exploring “How can poetry change the real world?”

Source: Interpark / Papago translate

* Where the book is available from a number of sources, they are prioritised as follows: (1) Amazon UK site, or for the more recent uploads (2) Amazon US site (3) Other sites in US or Europe, including second-hand outlets (4) LTI Korea, where the title is advertised as available from there (5) Onlines stores in Korea. Links to and Amazon UK site contain an affiliate code which, should you make a purchase, gives a small commission to LKL at no additional cost to you.