LKL book database logo

The Golden Phoenix

A collection of seven short stories providing a picture of Korean family life in the 1940s to the 1990s. Their themes include family and community ties, respect for tradition, survival in the face of repeated national disasters, and wrenching social upheaval.

The collection contains the following stories:

Ch’oe Yun: The Flower with Thirteen Fragrances
Kim Yŏng-hyŏn: The Mural
Oh Jung-Hee: The Monument Intersection
Yi Mun-gu: The Sunset over My Hometown
Yi Mun-yol: The Golden Phoenix
Yun Hu-myŏng: The Girl from the Wind-Whipped House
Yun Hŭng-gil: The Rainy Spell

Entry on here.

* Where the book is available from a number of sources, they are prioritised as follows: (1) Amazon UK site, or for the more recent uploads (2) Amazon US site (3) Other sites in US or Europe, including second-hand outlets (4) LTI Korea, where the title is advertised as available from there (5) Onlines stores in Korea. Links to and Amazon UK site contain an affiliate code which, should you make a purchase, gives a small commission to LKL at no additional cost to you.